The Ghost Of Ikhnaton

Four thousand years ago
On the wet sands of Nile
We used to sing hymn to the Sun.

Years and eternity went by-
Kingdoms fell, heroes forgotten;
But I still sing that song.

We wilted in the folds of time,
Untold those misplaced memories.
And yet…

I still bring a mouthful of Sun
On the damp floor
Of your cold bedroom .

I still carry the fragrance
Of your favourite cactus flower-
I still write poems.

For thousands of years later,
I still recognise you
In your ivory-blonde avatar.

For thousands of years later
I still seek you,
In this cyberpunk afterworld.

Leave a Reply

