A Tribute To Tarantino

Ok so here is a tribute to Tarantino,  in my own humble way. Let us imagine Jules Winnfield now walks the Earth as he wished, and on his path he finds himself in the dirty underbelly of India. He has become what Vincent Vega predicted before his own death, a ‘bum’. Jules earns his living by underground prizefighting, like Butch used to do. And we catch Jules in the middle of a fight in his ‘interior monologue’ as he is cornered by the opponent while the audience shouts for his blood.

“Last night I had a dream. I was this petty driver driving my little auto-rickshaw. The roads were terrible; they were broken, flooded, there were potholes and pits all over. And yet I was driving the three-wheeler despite those obstacles. Just when I thought it can’t get any worse,  it did. The roads didn’t get worse. They vanished. There were no roads anymore. I was trapped in the middle of a concrete jungle of little houses. But I kept driving. I kept driving through people’s hallways, kitchens, bedrooms, toilets and I kept moving ahead. The walls could not stop me. May be that was a premonition for what is happening now. He tried to break my spirit. He cornered me in the ring and showered punches all over me. Then he hit me below the belt. I got knocked out stone cold on the floor. I saw black. It was only then that the dream from last night came back to me. As I was breaking through the concrete walls of the buildings with my little rickshaw, I heard the referee’s voice, ‘Four, Five, Six…’ I pulled myself up from the ground. My legs feel woozy, my bones hurt. I feel a sharp pain in my lower abdomen, where he punched me under the belt. I wipe the blood of my face to see clearly. I see him now. And I see the audience. They are after my blood. They all want me dead. But they do not know one thing. The strongest man in the world is he who stands most alone. And I stand alone. Not a single soul by my side. And I stand here looking at you right in the eye, while  the referee counts to ten . Now I know the only rule of this game is that there are no rules. I am ready for the next round and I am lethal. I feel no pain. I am not a man. I am the powerhouse of retribution, the monolith of vengeance. And you are standing on my way. You don’t know what you are up against. But you will soon find out. You gonna find out that you fucked the wrong niggah. And you will know my name is Jules when I lay my vengeance upon thee. GET IN THE RING, MOTHERFUCKER!.”

 

The original monologue by Jules from Pulp Fiction, Ezekiel 25:17

Image

3 thoughts on “A Tribute To Tarantino

Leave a Reply

